Stuck on splash screen

I don’t know what happened, but my PC is stuck on boot:

As you can see it has no loading icon which means it doesn’t load at all. My PC usually and constantly freezes cuz it’s a low end PC so I just restart it with the power button. But today it doesn’t start up except when it’s recovery mode or set to ‘nomodeset’. I even tried to reinstall grpahics driver with ‘apt autoremove’ and ‘ubuntu-drivers autoinstall’ commands but it still occurs. What do you thinks causes this to occur?

It is difficult to know exactly what the issue is, obviously the Plymouth splash screen is hiding some of that. To dig a little deeper you could try pressing the ESC key when the splash screen starts or booting into recovery mode and looking at journalctl -xeb -1

2 Likes

I don’t know If I’m doing it right, I’m just a newbie, but this is what it shows:

How do I save this into a log file so that I can send it here

It’s way too long should I send it all?

@VladdyHell

You can copy/paste it here and put the whole thing in between “detail” tags as shown below:

/[/details="list title"]
Put
Your
Text
Here
/[/details]

(you will need to remove the forward slashes when you do it… I put them there to show the formatting syntax.)

… or just paste it here and highlight the text you want to “hide”, click the gear icon in the text editor while you’re editing or making your post and click on “Hide Details”. This will do the same thing.

If you manage to get the formatting right, it will look like this:

(you click on the arrow there and it will expand longer text you want to tuck away neatly)

Example

Example
Yada
Yada
Yada

Alternatively, you can copy/paste the entire thing to paste.ubuntu.com or pastebin.com and provide us a link to the “paste” i.e. post.

You have a mouse?
I can never copy stuff from that screen.
Plus, there is nowhere to paste it.
Is it logged to a file somewhere?
I think there is a way to open another command prompt at that point.