Problems installing programs; repositories?

Hi,

I’m almost a newcomer to Lubuntu, so I’ll probably be a bit clumsy . I used it for a short time some time ago. It was Lubuntu 14 or 16, not sure.
Whatever. I’m using Lubuntu 19 now. I installed it correctly, but I’m finding quite a headache while trying to install programs (or apps, not sure about the name.) I remember that previous version had a sort of “app store” like Android or Apple, and it was really easy to install them.
I found out only after installing it that LB19 has no app store whatsoever. At least, I can’t find it. So I had to download tarballs. As a Linux amateur, I Googled for hours, checking Ubuntu forums and tech blogs and so. I found instructions to install tarballs via terminal, but none of them worked at all (you know, cd, configure, make and so…). Very often, the authors describe even a different OS than the one I’m using. It’s confusing and (I must say) terribly annoying.
Can you suggest me any “app store” where I can find programs ready to install with a click? I know it might look like I have quite a nerve (this is Linux), but I can’t just find any other solution.

Thank you very much for your patience

Please have a look at our manual.

Is there something specific you are trying to install?

Thanks, I’m working on it. Discover Software Center didn’t help much, really.
I used Muon to get something similar to what I was looking for. I couldn’t find the exact program, though I know it’s available for Linux.
What kinda pisses me off is that I can’t seem to find the way to place a desktop shorcut for the programs I installed via Muong or DSC.

I was looking for SubtitleEdit. I couldn’t find it, so I installed some other similar which was available via Muon. We’ll see how it works.

You just need to make a desktop entry.

They don’t make packages for any Linux distro, unfortunately.

Well, SubtitleEdit is suposed to work in Ubuntu; at least, they released a tarball. Anyway, it doesn’t work.