Turn File Sharing off on Network

I’m new to Lubuntu and Linux altogether. I am not allowed to use personal laptop on office internet but I am using anyway. I would like to know if the network manager, sitting within the office, can see files in my pc.

In short, I’d like to know how to turn file sharing on network on and off.

I’d just firewall the ports, but none of them are open to begin with. File sharing in Linux is pretty much the same as Windows (uses the same ports/protocols) and is called SAMBA. If it were installed, you would see a version under “Installed” if you ran apt-cache policy samba. Similarly, you’d find all the ports open with the following commands:

nc -v localhost {139,445}
nc -vu localhost 13{7,8}

If you want to go all out, you might go through the list of well known ports and firewall everything related to Windows, Microsoft, MS, etc. Don’t forget NetBIOS.

Given you’re new, I’m sure firewalling isn’t necessarily an easy concept. iptables is not necessarily for the weak and a graphical tool may be a bit better. There’s documentation (admittedly a bit outdated) that suggests ufw which is a heck of a lot easier than iptables, but still a command line program. I’ve never used it, but you might want to check into fwbuilder which, unlike gufw (which is also weird as it’s a frontend to a frontend), uses the Qt toolkit for graphics so it won’t require a bunch of extra dependencies in Lubuntu > 18.04.

Whatever program you decide (unless it’s iptables or ufw which are installed by default), you’ll need to install it. Use Muon (or if you’re on 18.04, Synaptic) since Discover doesn’t necessarily list everything. Alternately, you can sudo apt install <package> e.g. sudo apt install fwbuilder.