Request for partitioning advice - I'm confused

Hi guys,
I’m new with Lubuntu and I’m trying to install it on my old Sony vaio where there is windows 7 pro at the moment.
But I’m locked at the partition screening because haow you said I have not the option “erase disk” but only manual partition.
If I select that and then next I have 3 sda ntfs:

• recovery 5,93gb
  • System_Reserved 100mb
  • blank 226,85gb

What am I supposed to do?
Delete all or what?

I try to open Lubuntu terminal and run sudo swapoff -a but nothing change.

Sorry for my ignorance with these procedures and thanks for your help.

Starting point for me would be what release of Lubuntu you’re using, and which ISO. The release details let us know what version of calamares (the installer) you’re using, and the ISO is useful on some where different releases had respins with new versions of calamares (eg. Lubuntu 22.04.2 has a newer calamares than Lubuntu 22.04)

Regardless, you’ve not said what partition table you have on your disk, as that really matters. If it’s a legacy partition table for example; only FOUR primary partitions are possible, so if they’re used up no options to add more are possible. You’ll need to delete some first, or other drastic measures as that partition table only caters for four (which was considered plenty when the standard was created in the 1980s).

Also, if your windows system has fastboot or hibernate active/enabled, that portion of the disk will be ignored by calamares in order to protect data there, and no “Erase disk” option can show, thus booting windows & ensuring it shuts down with fastboot off (fastboot is a form of hibernation) will allow calamares to offer you more options.

2 Likes

Hi @guiverc, thank you for your reply and sorry for my lack of complete information.
I’m trying to install Lubuntu 22.04.2.
About the partitions, I didn’t understand… I have 3 partitions as I said

recovery 5,93gb
System_Reserved 100mb
blank 226,85gb