RAID: what happened?

This is my first post, so be forbearing. I have been using Lubuntu for about five years, and it was great to ditch Windows. Recently, however, I had a problem in that my venerable server crashed in the middle of the upgrade to 22.04 LTS and wouldn’t be rescued. So I tried reinstallation from scratch, and found that newer versions of Lubuntu no longer recognise or install on RAID arrays. I spent hours on this alternately trying to fix the old installation and trying to reinstall, until this morning I put my oldest Lubuntu live disc, 14.10, in the machine. It just asked me nicely which array I wanted to install on and did I want to obliterate the XP partition (yes), and I was up and running within half an hour–even though I couldn’t get online because I have a fixed IP (not my choice). I remembered how impressed I was with Lubuntu as a newbie. The upgrades will be a long journey and I think I shall install more RAM first, but at least it is no longer alternating between kernel panic and grub rescue. I presume the change is part of refocusing away from older machines, but I think it’s regrettable. Are there any plans to restore this functionality?

I have no idea what you consider an older machine, but I just moved to my secondary PC I use late in the day, and it’s a 2008 dell; does that qualify as old? It’s a few years newer than the last machine I used in a QA-test install anyway.

I’ve always found installers a fickle thing, and have never found any I really love. They all have strengths and weaknesses, and I’m aware of situations where the old ubiquity that was used by Lubuntu up to and including 18.04 performs better than the newer calamares, but I’m also very true of the opposites (and the weaknesses is ubiquity are generally well known, part of why Ubuntu has been trying to get off for so long). Regardless I believe calamares looks & operates nicer than ubiquity.