NOOB - Problem installing

Hello, thats the problem after trying to install Lubuntu:

Boost.Python error in job "unpackfs".
Command '['mount', '/cdrom/casper/filesystem.squashfs', '/tmp/tmpy_7p65oo/filesystem', '-t', 'squashfs', '-o', 'loop']' returned non-zero exit status 32.
None

Traceback:
File "/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/calamares/modules/unpackfs/main.py", line 340, in run
    return unpackop.run()

File "/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/calamares/modules/unpackfs/main.py", line 201, in run
    self.mount_image(entry, imgmountdir)

File "/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/calamares/modules/unpackfs/main.py", line 250, in mount_image
    "-o", "loop"

File "/usr/lib/python3.7/subprocess.py", line 347, in check_call
    raise CalledProcessError(retcode, cmd)

Please heelp im a linux NOOB.

First thing I would do is verify your install media is perfect (ie. download of ISO & write to media was flawless). You can do this with the Check disk for defects option at the boot menu.

See the first screen on the Installation page of the Lubuntu manual, ie. https://manual.lubuntu.me/1/1.3/installation.html

1 Like

Barring Chris’ suggestion identifying the problem, please provide your installation log file. You can send it to paste.ubuntu.com by doing the following in terminal: pastebinit -i ~/.cache/Calamares/session.log. Include the resulting URL here.

http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/3fcbTVkNHQ/

Does that mean the check for defects succeeded?

One thing I find strange is that it looks like partitions on the target drive are mounted. The installer should not let you even attempt the install if that’s the case. That may be a bug. In any case, if you unmount them and try again, does everything work fine?

I’ve got 2 files with error after cheking disk.

by “unmount” do you mean keep all partitions empty, with no file format (fat32 for example)?

Then you need to either download the ISO again, copy it to installation media again, or both. Keep doing it until the check succeeds.