No sound with lubuntu installation on Toshiba Chromebook 2 (CB30-B-103)

Hi all,

I’m new to Lubuntu and wanted to evaluate it on a live USB stick to use as a lighter alternative to the full Ubuntu distro. I’m using a Toshiba Chromebook 2 (Toshiba CB30-B-103) and wanted to evaluate lubuntu before installing to make sure everything worked as it should.

Everything seems to work fine from the live USB with one exception - unfortunately, I’m getting no sound! I can’t get any sound from the onboard speakers, nor if I plug in an external speaker.

I did the usual thing and search online, and whilst I did find some relevant articles, all the information I could find was at least 3-4 years old. Things move quickly, and I just wanted to make sure I am getting the most up-to-date advice to resolve the issue.

Hoping someone here can help - and full disclosure, I am a linux beginner!

My live USB lubuntu version is: 19.04 Disco Dingo (LXQt).

Thanks in advance,
Jack

Welcome to Lubuntu.

I don’t know your box/chromebook, but I’d get details of your sound hardware (ie. chipset used), using

sudo lshw -C sound

which is list-hardware (lshw) of class=sound (-C sound). That will provide details that you can explore online (far more usefully than the toshiba model number), and let you see if it’s recognized & what driver has been assigned (if any, the driver= bit). It’s also useful information for people here to try and help you with.

Hi guiverc,

Thanks for this! I have enclosed the details below:

lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ sudo lshw -C sound
  *-multimedia              
       description: Audio device
       product: Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series High Definition Audio Controller
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 1b
       bus info: pci@0000:00:1b.0
       version: 0e
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm msi bus_master cap_list
       configuration: driver=snd_hda_intel latency=0
       resources: irq:91 memory:d0914000-d0917fff