How to segregate windows on different desktops?

Hi All,

Linux noob here. Actually quite a bit of IT novice too (with some knowledge only).

First, I want to thank the Lubuntu team for creating such a lightweight (most importantly) and yet beautiful looking OS. Great job guys! Onto a quirk I encountered…

I have been trying Lubuntu 19.04 64-bit through a live USB. About the workspaces/ desktops - whatever windows or applications I open on one desktop (say, desktop 1 by default), the same windows can be seen in the other 3 desktops. Isn’t the point of different desktops to segregate categories of work and switch for ease of use? This is peculiar. If I load a few windows on one desktop, the rest of the desktops should be empty unless I open the very same windows on them myself. Instead whatever is opened in one desktop opens in the rest of them. When I say “open” I mean the windows in the other desktops are minimized and can be seen in the taskbar, not maximized. Another way this manifests in a strange way is whatever changes I do in desktops other than #1 (opening another file or folder/ closing a file or folder,etc) it gets mirrored in all desktops AND desktop 1 is switched to automatically, no matter if I perform the actions in desltop 2, 3, 4 and so on.