help to verify iso image

hi, i would like to install lubuntu, i have downloaded version 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa) via HTTP.
I know I need to verify the integrity and authenticity of the iso image. but I don’t know how to do it, there is a manual but I don’t understand it. I need someone who knows please explain it to me in a simple way. thanks.
sorry for my poor english. I wrote this with a translator. I speak Spanish.

Go to the download page, you will see a link to SHA256SUMS:
http://cdimages.ubuntu.com/lubuntu/releases/20.04.1/release/SHA256SUMS
It will give a string of numbers. Keep it open. Now, open a terminal in the directory of the iso you downloaded. Type:
sha256sum lubuntu...iso
(type the full name of iso)
It will compute give you a string of numbers. The string in the link I gave and the string your pc computed must match.

You’re in luck. We have a Spanish support subcategory now! See en español

2 Likes

Thanks for answering, but I’m a very newbie and I still don’t get it right. I’m using a raspberry pi with raspdebian and I have in the downloads folder (/ home / pi / Downloads) the file: lubuntu-20.04.1-desktop-amd64.iso plus the files: SHA256SUMS and SHA256SUMS.gpg
what should I do?
Thank you.

Open a terminal.

1. cd /home/pi/Downloads
  2. sha256sum -c SHA256SUMS

It should say OK.

1 Like

If you also want to make sure the signature itself is authentic, have a look at this:
https://linuxconfig.org/how-to-verify-the-integrity-of-a-linux-distribution-iso-image

2 Likes

I get this:
pi @ raspberrypi: ~ $ cd / home / pi / Downloads
bash: cd: too many arguments
pi @ raspberrypi: ~ $ sha256sum -c SHA256SUMS
sha256sum: SHA256SUMS: The file or directory does not exist
pi @ raspberrypi: ~ $

You may want to read this before delving too deeply into using the command line as you are missing some fundamental things.