Admin right: real vnc

Hi
I’m new in Linux. I tried to install real vnc on lubuntu 23.04. I installed the generic script x64. The installation was ok. I started rvnc and logged in (at real vnc) - all ok. At the last step I got the error:

It seams I have not enought rights to do this step. I need admin rights. But I have the admin rights in lubuntu…

Question: is this a lububtu or real-vnc problem?

Thank you for answers

David

I can only give you a general tip for now. You are new to LInux, I am new to Real VNC :stuck_out_tongue:

If your system has enough memory (say more than 8 GB, or at least 8 GB) you could install e.g. Oracle’s VirtualBox (free software, GPLv3). You can use this to run another Lubuntu (or other OS’es as well) as guest operating system within your main system. In fact as a virtual machine. This allows you to install and test new software packages on the guest, without the risk of destroying anything while making changes to the host. So you can play with Real VNC.

Hope this helps. There are other solutions for running a virtual machine, but I personally like VirtualBox a lot. I have never had any problems with it.

However, my question is? Why would you run a VNC server on a Linux desktop machine?

(Real) VNC sounds like a great tool (with limitations, as I understand it) for managing Windows machines, dude. Linux is not Windows, so why bother managing Windows machines from Linux überhaupt?

What am I missing here??

Grüße.

Hi Fritz
Thank you for your reply. It helps not really. I have the following situation: I have a mini-pc (no display) for my astro gear. This pc is remote controlled. I use vnc for this remote control. In the past I had a Raspberry pi 4. These Raspi had real-vnc installed and it worked flawless. I tried different solutions (with other hw): microsoft remote desktop, team viewer usw. But all these solutions had more time delay compared with (real) vnc.