23.04: Problems with HDMI video & audio output to TV

I’m new to Lubuntu, and semi-new to Linux.
I installed Lubuntu (and Spiral Linux, and previously Zorin Lite and Xubuntu) on my new laptop, Lenovo Ideapad 1 15IGl7

With Windows 11 (now erased), HDMI video & audio output to TV worked fine.
But with the Linuxes, there have been problems.

• Video: intermittent (a few seconds on, a few seconds off). Bands of green or red flecks moving over the screen.
  • Audio: Undetected. Pulse Audio Volume Control just has no mention at all of HDMI output.

The video problem did not occur with Zorin Lite 16.3.

The video problem did occur with latest Xubuntu and Spiral, but was fixed once I changed from 2-metre HDMI cable to 1-metre HDMI cable. But with Lubuntu it occurs even with the 1m cable.

The audio problem happens with all Linuxes on this laptop so far.

For comparison, another laptop (old HP) with Zorin Lite 16.3 installed has no problems at all outputting both video and audio to the same TV, using either cable or either HDMI socket on the TV. I also just tried Lubuntu live USB on that old HP, and it also worked just fine.

I read a few things online (which got me to try another cable) and I’ve added lubuntu-restricted-extras and tried Additional Drivers, but it says there are no proprietary drivers for my hardware.

Same problem whatever Monitor Settings / Fast Menu option I choose: Unified, Extended, Only Second. I don’t know what to do with other settings (e.g. refresh rate?)

2023-09-02_monitor-config

Any ideas to get HDMI video and audio working in Lubuntu would be much appreciated.

Here’s the inxi output:

inxi -SMAG
System:
  Host: me-82v7 Kernel: 6.2.0-32-generic arch: x86_64 bits: 64
    Desktop: LXQt v: 1.2.1 Distro: Ubuntu 23.04 (Lunar Lobster)
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 82V7 v: IdeaPad 1 15IGL7
    serial: <superuser required>
  Mobo: LENOVO model: LNVNB161216 v: SDK0T76467 WIN