22.04 my wifi is often disconnecting

Hello everyone !

I’ve been using Lubuntu for many years now (18.04) and it is the first time I am facing this weird issue : the wifi is disconnecting from times to times. On 21.10, everything was fine.

lspci tells me my Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 card is using the driver ath9k.

As wifi drivers is compiled from the kernel, I’ve reinstalled the latest one (sudo apt-get install --reinstall linux-image-$(uname -r)) with no success.

Do you have any idea ? Am I the only one facing this issue ?

Cheers

1 Like

Try to see if your driver works in a 22.04 live session. If it does not, then the new kernel must be the problem.

1 Like

Is it blocked ? Run the command below to see.

rfkill list

Oh from time to time you might want to check your router and turn off wifi legacy (a/b) as your device can use wifi n/g.

Thank for your replies :slight_smile:

I’ve browsed the internet on the live session with the same result : from times to times I have to reconnect to the router to still be connected. @BasilCat you think I should install the previous kernel ?

Here is the result of the rfkill list command :

0: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no

From my understanding the problem is from my laptop (3 days ago with Lubuntu 21.10 everything was fine), not my router.

1 Like

Maybe press shift when you power on your computer, select advanced options for ubuntu, then select the 5.13 kernel. Maybe your WIFI will work then

1 Like

I’ll try that tonight ! Thank you for the advice :slight_smile:

If shift doesn’t work, press esc.

It’s not the router that is different but Linux driver. Some wireless Linux drivers have stability issues when connecting to routers with very old wifi a/b enabled.

1 Like

So far the 5.13 kernel seems to work perfectly. Thanks @BasilCat :slight_smile:

I’ll try tonight @thetick 's idea.

1 Like