Things running slowly, something wrong with laptop memory?

Hello everyone,
This is my first post, thank you for hosting this forum and providing the world with Lubuntu. I run Lubuntu 18.04. A beautiful OS.

First of all, I am a beginner with all things Linux, and am in general not a “techy”.
Lubuntu runs quite often a bit slow on my laptop.
Its a rather old HP notebook, duo processor at 2 GHz.
Memory 997 MB, with 741 MB being used while only running Firefox, System Profiler, and a prompt of Software Updater if I would like to download and install updates yes or no.
As stated above, I am not a techy, but it seems to me that 741 MB/997 MB of memory being used for these three mere applications seems rather much.
Is this normal, if not, is the memory hardware not functioning well?
PuppyLinux I could not run at all, it would constantly crash.

I cannot play video files or DVDs, mostly no error message is given, only once in which it was stated that there is not enough memory. All the codecs are installed. It seems to me this is not normal

On a side note, when I run System Profiler and look at Summary it presents the memory as follows: 997MB. When I click Memory, it displays it as: 997160 KiB. In case it matters.

Thank you for your help and patience,

Immortality

For the modern web, 1GB of RAM is severely limited. If you’re not using Firefox, you could probably survive ok, but otherwise, you will probably want more than that. I’d install more RAM if I were you.

3 Likes

Dear wxl,

Thank you. I already thought this was the problem.
May ask if RAM chips are the same for desktops as they are for laptops, or do laptops have their own adapted pieces of hardware?

Thank you,

Immortality

Laptops generally use shorter chips (SODIMMs), but just like desktop RAM pretty much works on every desktop, so it follows for laptops. You’ll need to make sure to get a few things right, though.