Mouse Speed/Sensitivity Setting

I’m new to Lubuntu and I’m struggling with what seems like a very basic issue. I cannot seem to find the correct setting for the sensitivity/speed of the mouse. Is there a graphic dialog that allows me to set this?

Thanks,

Tenaya

G’day & welcome to the Lubuntu discourse/forum.

As you’ve not mentioned a release; I’ll assume the latest stable release which is Lubuntu 22.10 or the 2022-October release, thus my links will be for that release. If you’re using another release; adjust the URLs as appropriate, and in future if you provide your release we’ll attempt to use links that match your release.

Have you tried following the manual? ie. https://manual.lubuntu.me/stable/3/3.2/3.2.8/keyboard_and_mouse.html or is this what you’ve tried, and thus want a GUI alternative?

Thank you for your response.

As near as I can tell, the setting dialog box shown in " Chapter 3.2.8 Keyboard and Mouse" does NOT include a speed setting. Acceleration, yes, click, yes, scroll, yes, but sensitivity/speed seemse to be missing.

Am I missing something?

Tenaya

1 Like

BTW, I am using what I believe to be the latest Lubuntu version, downloaded today.

Can anyone suggest a solution?

Most modern distros are using libinput in place of evdev (library level).
You get less options with libinput. But even with evdev, there was never really any emphasis on setting the ‘speed’.

Instead all the configs are geared to setting the acceleration and modifying it’s behaviour. And you would tweak these until you were satisfied with the ‘feel’.

What can you set with libinput?
With regard to pointers, we are left with just the Acceleration and Profile.
(This could be by design to dumb down and simplify or maybe that development hasn’t reached a stage to offer more options.)

Acceleration
This is what you see in;
Preferences > LXQt Settings > Keyboard and Mouse > Mouse and Touchpad > Acceleration Speed
It’s a value between -1 and 1 with 1 being the maximum.