Lubuntu 18.04 Desktop Environment

I am new to this O/S and trying to read up on its functions. I assume I have LXDE desktop environment and I have read not to mix desktop environments. This one comes w/ PCManFM, but it don’t do what I need as a file manager, I see that NAUTILUS does. Will it hurt the system if I install and use this file manager?

No it won’t hurt your system. Both pcmanfm and nautilus are GTK+ based, however nautilus (https://packages.ubuntu.com/bionic/nautilus) is GTK+3 based (ie. ver 3 of gimp+gnome toolkit) where as LXDE and pcmanfm (https://packages.ubuntu.com/bionic/pcmanfm) is GTK+2 based.

In the links I provided for comparison. you can see pcmanfm uses libgtk2-0.0 (ie. GTK+2) where as nautilus uses libgtk-3-0 (ie. GTK+3). Thus different libraries (that do the same thing; just different versions) will get added to your system which will not break anything (at this point just more packages & more disk space used). The consequences during operation will mean you will have two sets of libraries loaded into memory at the same time, which won’t be a problem if your machine has enough ram, but if you’re machine has limited ram, the effect could be substantial (ie. result is a slightly slower to moderately slower machine).

The same effect occurs if you used dolphin (KDE) or pcmanfm-qt (Lubuntu LXQt) as both are Qt based. It won’t break your system, but your system’s ram usage (when they are being used) will be higher.

What other programs you have running at the same time (and thus in memory) also of course play a part.

Hurt your system no, if your system has limited RAM it could cause more swapping of memory to disk, and a slower system.

The size of your ram is what I’d consider first.

• If less than 1gb RAM I’d suggest avoid.
  • If 1GB RAM, you sure don’t want a browser open when running nautilus.
  • If 2GB RAM you may not even notice it.
  • If 4GB RAM or more, I’d not worry at all.