How do I change audio firmware on T200TA

Hi I have been playing with Lubuntu 20.04 on my Asus T200TA. First with live USB, then I installed to USB and now installed on MMC. In the latter case the audio is no longer working.
I compared the USB install with the MMC install and this is what I see:
Linux on USB install

Output of: inxi -A

Audio: Device-1: Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio driver: HdmiLpeAudio
Device-2: bytcr-rt5640 driver: btytcr-r5640
Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.11.0-44-generic

MMC install:
Audio: Device-1: Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio driver: HdmiLpeAudio
Device-2: sof-bytcht rt5640 driver: SOF
Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.13.0-28-generic

Device 2 driver is different as well as sound server. As I am new to this and already did a lot of searching (probably in the wrong way), can someone guide me how to fix this?

Thanks for your help.

A

This sounds like a similar recent post where someone was trying to get touchscreen working on an older Asus model.

My hunch is that it’s regarding something similar where tweaks need to be made to get things working.

I will dig around and see what I can find.

A quick look at what you provided I can see the following

That install is outdated & using an unsupported and EOL kernel; the 5.11 kernel was from Ubuntu 21.04, is now EOL and when upgraded will upgrade to the 5.13 kernel (meaning new kernel modules; ie. drivers).

Ubuntu LTS releases have two primary kernel stack choices; the GA stack uses the same kernel the life of the product, ie. starts on 5.4 and ends on 5.4. The HWE stack upgraded to 5.8 (at 20.04.2), then 5.11 (at 20.04.3) then to 5.13 (at 20.04.4, a move which is occurring now starting roughly a fornight ago), then to 5.15 (at 20.04.5 in about six months).