19.10 Failed to install - (solved)

Installation Failed:
External command finished with errors

Command apt install -y -no-upgrade -o
Acquire::gpgv::Options::=–ignore-time-conflict shim-signed finished with exit code 100. Output:WARNING:

apt does not have a stable CLI interface. Use with caution in scripts. Reading package lists… Building dependency tree… Reading state information…

Package shim-signed is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsolted, or is only available from another source E: Package ‘shim-signed’ has no installation candidate.

I have looked around on forums for similar problems but can’t seem to find anything quite like this and I’m new to Linux. I made the mistake of thinking things would just work or be easy but they never are with me any help would be most appreciated as I currently have a laptop with no os on.

During the installation, are you connected to the Internet?

Thanks for responce and yes I’m connected to the internet I’ve disabled fast boot I don’t have the option for clean install which was the first concern and through doing a custom install it gets so far before throwing this error back at me.

What do you mean with “option for clean install”?

With “custom install” you mean “Manual partitioning”?

Did you see our installation manual?

And please provide the terminal output from

sudo parted --list
sudo efibootmgr -v

Maybe you have to install efibootmgr first with sudo apt update && sudo apt install efibootmgr

1 Like

Sorry by clean install I mean it gave no option to erase disk and install only manual partitoning . I also did look at the installation manual and made sure it had the necessary partitions for it. One moment I’m just doing what you requested now.

Sudo parted --list gave me:

Warning: The drive descriptor says the physical block size is 2048 bytes, but Linux says it is 512 bytes. Ignore/ cancel.

Shall I ignore this and proceed anyway.